World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

As someone who has been fishing for 15+ years, i have a rather strange question, How do you cast ? Im Left handed, and i remember when i was about 12 my dad (right handed) trying to teach me, he was very good at casting but a very poor teacher. translating a right handed cast to a total newbie left hander was just not working out. As a result i think ive development my own casting technique. im not saying its better than any other method, but this has been bugging me for some time and i would like to get some opinions on this. casting distance is not an issue for me, i dont do beach casting at all, but does this method enable me to preload the rod more ? or maybe create a higher potential energy ?

have a look at the pic, as you can see, when i start the casting i grab the line and loop it to the inside of my palm, i then grip the line and the top of the rod tight with my whole hand as i start the cast. does holding the line in this method allow me to build up more energy before the release ?

·
Registered
6,835 Posts
Might be better if you opened the pick up arm! :laugh:

Seriously, can't see that it would improve distance, in fact I think it would actually hamper you a bit, surely you can learn to hod the line with the index finger, a much safer and more responsive way of casting?

·
Registered
485 Posts
The way that you hold the line has nothing to do with preloading the rod .

Casting is a technique and timing thing mainly and imho the way you are holding the line looks like a line cut about to happen.

Have you tried a breakaway cannon out ?

·
Registered
5,397 Posts
That could be a deadly method if the loop of line accidently caught one of your pinkies and you had a pound lead to drop or a 6oz breakaway to launch, even more successfull amputation with braid !