World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just to check, Uptiding is when i cast against the tide flow and Downtiding is when i cast with the flow ? I know this may sound a stupid question, but i'm still new to boat fishing, so i thought i'd better check.
What's the advantage uptiding over downtiding, other than from what i understand you use less lead to uptide than downtide, or have i got that wrong ?
I had a go uptiding (i think lol) and got on sort of ok, but it wasn't easy to hold bottom with a 6oz lead, with a bow in the line, i now want to have a try at downtiding (i think).
Anyway, last question, when downtiding, what would be the average sort of size of lead or leads you would look to use ? i realise this could in reality be almost any size, but i don't want to be carrying 40 stone of leads that i might just use one day, not if i can help it :) I make my own leads and want to get some made up, so initially at least i just want to make some regularly used sort of sizes to take.
Cheers.
AL ..

G

·
Uptiding is generally used with weights of around 6oz and is when you cast uptide of the boat. Uptide leads use grip wires to hold bottom
Downtiding the tackle is usually lowered over the side to the bottom and sometimes trotted back away from the boat. Downtide leads can be anything from a couple of ounces to 2-3 lb depending on the tide run and what line you are using. If using braid you can use considerably less weight due to the thinner diameter. Downtide leads have no grip wires.
Unless you are fishing very snaggy ground 2 or 3 of each weight for both up and downtide will do. I would suggest 2 x 5oz uptide, 2 x 6oz uptide and 2 x 8oz uptide. For downtide a couple of each of 4oz, 6oz, 8oz, 12oz and 1lb. If fishing somewhere with a fast tide maybe 1 x 2lb as well.

·
Registered
2,806 Posts