World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts
&

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<font color='#0000FF'>Anyone out there like to cut short my period of "stumbling through the dark" about this website? &nbsp;Managed to ask a couple of questions and got a couple of replies for which I am most greatful. &nbsp;But i feel there is soooo much more to know (as indeed with this fishing thing). &nbsp;Any recipe&#39;s for Conger......?</font>

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
<font color='#000000'>Hi Mature Student,

Like your self I am a Mature Student, a 62 year old who has been sea angling for years and still learning. I prefer boat angling to beachcasting, the only reason&#33; I seem to catch more fish.

I have been out on Tina 1 many a time, like all steps in a harbour, they are prone to algae and care should be taken at all times.

With regard to Conger fishing: Fresh bait cannot be beaten. A large Mackerel or Pouting flapper during the summer months is excellent. During the winter, Pouting is favourite, next best 3 or 4 Squid bunched together will do the job equally as well. I landed an 80lb plus on board Blackjack out of Mudeford using Mackerel. I have also had a few out of West Bay, do you fish there regularly?

I normally make my own traces. Having bought traces in the past, which I found to be next to useless, I decided to make my own. After returning from work and spending a little time in the garden I spend a couple of hours now and again making weird and wonderful contraptions. Having said that the simple ones are always the best.