World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi people

As i've already mentioned on forum i'm a complete beginner at sea fishing, so picture this! I walked to my local sea fishing shop to buy some weights for a nice simple ledger rig to fish with while the wife did abit of shopping anyway after 15 mins of haggling of what size weight i wanted we finally got down to an 3 or 4 ounce, he then got this big box full of all different shapes and styles and told me to pick my own ( not very helpful ) Anyway after going on with myself, my question is -

When and what sitution would you use them weight with the metal legs ? ( great discription ha ha )

Cheers

Lee :D :D :D

·
Registered
66 Posts
I tend to use the breakaway type weights for most of my beach fishing they are used if you want to hold your bait where you cast it, if you want your bait to move around with the tide use a plain lead.

·
Registered
6,973 Posts
Them weights with the legs-use the breakaway type for most fishing the idea is they anchor themselves, and therefore your trace and bait in one spot but are easier to retrieve because when you pull them the legs "breakaway" and don't snag thing is they can let go when you don't want them to so there are weights with fixed leads available for times when there is a heavy tide or current. What I do is have a selection of sizes-heavier holds better but also carry a couple of elastic bands these can be wrapped around the lead to hold the legs in place for those rare occasions you need more grip.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ha ha ha ha yeah me to !!!!!!

thanks for that guys, i've just been reading the article on flounder it seems i need the plain lead as i want it to drift with the current of the estury where i fish.

Cheers Lee :D :D

·
Registered
66 Posts
paid4tackledealersroller said:
Bloody Hell I think I'm turning into a fisherman :eek: