World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hiya everyone i was just wondering as im new to the sport of shore fishing is there any fish i should be wary of as i have heard some have spines and most have teeth :eek: , i spose i could let the mrs unhook em till im sure of whats what :D
kev

·
Registered
437 Posts
hi kevmac
this ones the bass it has spines on the dorsal fin and small spines each side of the gill covers and of course teef i usually run my hand from nose to the start of the dorsal fin and flatten the spines while you unhook.

the other is the weaver britains most poisonus fish there is the lesser weaver and the greater weaver these have spines on the back and on the gills like the bass treat this with care or its a hospital trip for anti venum i usually hold the hook shank and shake it off back into the water

Both the spines of the first dorsal fin, and that of the gill covers, have venom glands attached to them. The spines are grooved, and when pressed, toxin is driven up the groves, and delivered. Care should be taken, as the poison causes localized swelling and discomfort, and on occasions death. The wound should be allowed to bleed freely, thus helping to flush away the toxin, and maybe treated with potassium permangenate solution, or very hot water. Seek medical attention / advice.

lesser weaver.

there are others like thornback ray spurdog if you are not sure ask other anglers on the beach......or as you said get the wife to do it lol.. clive

·
Registered
5,557 Posts
Weaver are the poisnous ones in British waters, if you are unlucky enough to get hit by one heat up the area of the sting. The venom is a protein like egg white heat the are and you cause the venom to cook and solidify and stop it entering the blood stream. The pain will be drastically reduced. They can kill if you are allergic to the venom, I am so I carry Adrenaline in a self injector on the boat.