World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all,
im new to the fly and stugglre to know which fly to use at which venue are there any tips on which flies to use amnd when to use them.
line tips
when to use dry?
when to use intermediate?
when to use fast sinking?

what length leeder? what poundage?

what colours etc?
thanks

·
Registered
253 Posts
I always use 6lb clear line (unless using a dry then 4lb) when you get to a new venue take a walk round first see if u can see any fish rising look at what they are rising for and use some thing simular if none are rising I would use a floating line with a Montana nymphs or a hears ear the if nothing move to a intermidiet and use the same flies but try buzzers and lures such as fritz cats whiskers and just flies to get an attack

Depending on what time of year it is you might get a night rise and when you do it is normally the best time to catch a trout I normally put on floating line when this happens and start with little dries like a cdc or a little flie that will just go under the surface some times a black buzzer as it gets darker I would swap to a muddler minnow and try variouse retreves fast slow and some times just leving it out there

If it's winter I stick to small flies on a intermidiet line or a full sing with slow retreves also in any time of year if there is regular people feeding ducks with bread when they have finished go there with a white flie this normally produces a fish and if the place if you can find out if it is stocked regularly if it is just use a fritz you can't fail

·
Registered
936 Posts
The best thing you can do when learning to fish is to experiment with different techniques. Take into consideration wind, how warm it is, if its overcast, if flies are hatching off the water etc etc and try and think about what will work.