World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok this should probably be in the tackle section but I want some south wales input as thats where the rod is for.
A mate of mine wants to start fishing but I'm not sure what rod to advise - budget being £100-150, so I can't recommend a TT ! As he is a complete newbie, I'm going to suggest a fixed spool outfit to start with. He doesn't want to waste money on something that won't last and will have to be upgraded soon. The rod will be for general bottom fishing for the usual south wales species and probably on some rough ground if he comes with me!
All suggestions welcome.

·
Registered
21 Posts
anyfish anywhere 13 ft, six & bait ,cant go wrong do,s what it says, nice finnish a good rod at the price and right for the bristol channel

·
Registered
214 Posts
I`d recomend 2nd hand for a 1st rod. Tell him get a good un but 2nd hand. I did this then progressed to brand new 1`s.

·
Registered
6,088 Posts
i concur with what rhydrod said get a decent secondhand rod best place to look would be in ewenny angling if your going to buy a new rod i would suggest the anyfish anywhere 6 and bait but beware the eyes are very brittle i know this cause i have to replace them or you could try one of the diawa supercast range superb first rod to start with lol tight lines

·
C.T.A.C
4,909 Posts
Six'n'bait as a first rod - na, like Tony (F'n'C) said - the eyes are brittle (not fuji's) but the blank is a good action... A newby might be a tad clumsy, so a rod rung with quality eyes that can take punishment will be the best option.
A good secondhand rod or the supercast x range would be a good starting point. I started with cheapy floppy gear with rod and reel package under £40 years ago. Slowly, I progressed to buying top quality gear as my love of fishing grew!!!

·
Banned
10,574 Posts